L’Oréal Paris Elvive Colour Protect Anti-Brassiness Purple Shampoo Review (2022)

L'Oréal Paris

RRP$9.95

95 Reviews

Buy Now

L’Oréal Paris Elvive Colour Protect Anti-Brassiness Purple Shampoo is a colour-correcting purple shampoo for highlighted, blonde and grey hair. The purple formula helps to neutralise unwanted yellow, orange and brassy tones in chemically lightened and highlighted hair. The shampoo contains UV filter technology to protect hair from harmful UVA/UVB damage.

*Average star rating within the product image is based on a Review Crew panel of 182 and is correct as of 23/04/2019

L’Oréal Paris Elvive Colour Protect Anti-Brassiness Purple Shampoo Review (1)

Buy Now

L’Oréal Paris Elvive Colour Protect Anti-Brassiness Purple Shampoo is a colour-correcting purple shampoo for highlighted, blonde and grey hair. The purple formula helps to neutralise unwanted yellow, orange and brassy tones in chemically lightened and highlighted hair. The shampoo contains UV filter technology to protect hair from harmful UVA/UVB damage.

*Average star rating within the product image is based on a Review Crew panel of 182 and is correct as of 23/04/2019

L’Oréal Paris Elvive Colour Protect Anti-Brassiness Purple Shampoo

AVERAGE RATINGS

95 Reviews

Rating / Reviews

Helen T. 05 May 2019

This purple shampoo does the job protecting my lightened hair colour and leaving my hair nice and soft. My hair does feel a little dry after use so I would use hair masque after using the purple shampoo. Overall I this is a very good affordable purple shampoo that does what it says.

02 May 2019

Love the shampoo! It was perfect to keep my highlights looking bright without turning brassy just like walking out of the salon. Smells very nice but if you are the one of those girls who loves the bubbly kind of product, don't expect much bubbles with this product. I highly recommend it, great product without spending much!

(Video) Loreal Elvive and Elseve Colour Protect Purple Shampoo and Conditioner Review

Ashleigh T. 07 Apr 2019

I really liked this product! I was sceptical at first as I normally purchase my hair products from the salon and not the supermarket but I was pleasantly surprised. It left my hair super soft and smooth and reduced the brassy tones. It also has a pleasant smell that’s not overpowering. Will definitely purchase in the future.

Rebecca I. 29 Mar 2019

I have dark chocolate brown hair which I bleach blonde every 6-8 weeks with foils so I am constantly looking for products to keep my blonde looking less brassy and more soft ash blonde. This shampoo delivered and whilst it was a bit drying when used with the conditioner the hair is left with ok texture and no brassy tones

Miss J. 29 Mar 2019

Everyone knows having blonde hair comes with a bit of maintenance so you can keep the brassiness away, so a good purple shampoo is a must. The L’Oréal Paris Elvive Colour Protect Anti-Brassiness Purple Shampoo isa great purple shampoo for maintaining a nice shade of blonde on me. When I use a purple shampoo, I also want it to thoroughly clean my hair, and this L’Oréal does a a job good of that for me, so big ticks of approval. After washing out the shampoo, I was really happy to say my hair didn’t feel dry or stripped at all. My hair felt soft and smooth. I have enjoyed using this purple shampoo and will continue to get on using it. With 200 ml of product is a great budget friendly purple shampoo which performs well and should be a staple product for blondes.

Amy S. 29 Mar 2019

(Video) L'OREAL ELVIVE PURPLE SHAMPOO REVIEW AND DEMO | WHICH IS THE BEST PURPLE SHAMPOO?

I normally use salon toning shampoo as I've found in the past that the drugstore ones don't tone my hair as well. I find that they don't reduce too much brassiness and don't leave me with ashy hair but I was really surprised with this. The purple shampoo is dark enough to help neutralise orange tones without turning my hair purple. I did find that I had to apply it for longer than my salon shampoos to get the same result. I like the convenience of being able to pick this up at Priceline, rather than having to go to a salon to purchase it as well as it being half the price. The only drawback I found with this was that it does have a strong fragrance. If you are sensitive to scents, then I would skip this. I liked the packaging. The bright packaging makes it stand out on a store shelf.

29 Mar 2019

I absolutely loved this blonde shampoo !!! I’ve always used an expensive salon purple shampoo but can honestly say that the L’Oréal one is just as good if not better !!! It takes the brassy colour out of my roots without leaving a purple stain colour which some blonde shampoos tend to do. My hair looks clean and crisp, I will definitely be purchasing this again :)

Tracey B. 28 Mar 2019

Exactly what I want in a toning shampoo. Dark purple and tones perfectly. Smells nice and costs a fraction of the salon shampoo I usually buy. Only downside is it makes my hair frizzy but nothing my usual styling products won’t fix. Very happy with this one. It makes my hair feel so soft.

Lev K. 28 Mar 2019

I was privileged enough to get to trail this shampoo!I must admit I didn’t have high hopes for this, boy was I proven wrong. This product worked as well as my purple fudge shampoo and is cheaper than it! It helped control the brassiness of my highlighted hair and even helped with toning it. For the price I would definitely recommend this!

Joshua Gigyan 28 Mar 2019

This is great value for money. I used to use Vidal Sassoon shampoo, but after a friend recommended me this brand, I can never go back. The smell is beautiful, and it is always a pleasure in the bath. Overall, I would say it keeps my hair clean, smells good, and is very affordable. 5 stars!

28 Mar 2019

(Video) Purple shampoo as a white toner || L'Oreal Elvive Colour Protect Anti-Brassiness

This shampoo is a rich colour also smells quite nice/ I have found it quite drying (which is fairly normal for toning shampoos). As a cheaper alternative to salon shampoo and conditioner sets the price range is good. It does tone the colour down somewhat. It isn’t as strong as salon shampoos but it does do what it says. I would recommend for those on a budget. Personally I will stick my my salon ones as I like my blonde to be silvery and this one just isn’t strong enough to offer the results I am after.

Amy S. 28 Mar 2019

I have lightened hair and have used a number of shampoos and a toner, or purple shampoos. Always prefer the purple shampoos as you use less water so its better for the environment. This product I love, because you don't need a lot of it, and it can effectively wash out oil and buildup with a smaller amount than other shampoos I've used, and its richly pigmented so actually does what it claims to do. I also like the fragrance of this shampoo. I used another brand shampoo that is as richly pigmented and did a great job with controlling brassiness, but had an awful smell. Its a win-win with L'Oreal's purple shampoo for me because it does the job, smells great and is a much cheaper price point that the other one. Will definitely be buying again.

Sarah s. 28 Mar 2019

Love this purple shampoo - a great amount of pigment (even stained my fingers temporarily!) that really toned my heavily dyed blonde hair. Like most purple shampoos that work, it left my hair feeling a bit dry and stringy immediately after use, but that was fixed straight away by using the matching conditioner which is also lovely. Fresh fruity smell, and easily lathers up making it easy to apply evenly throughout hair. I know use this once to twice a week and am loving the results!

Nikki K 28 Mar 2019

As a brunette with blonde highlights I find purple shampoos can be a bit hit and miss. This product smells fantastic and lathers really well. I did find the purple colouring was very strong and left me with purple hands in the shower - but nothing a little extra scrubbing didn’t remove.I do think the product tackled the brassiness I have been dealing with but I did find without a strong conditioner it had a very drying effect on my hair.For the price is a great option to give purple shampoo a go.

Zhour M. 28 Mar 2019

I am constantly switching up my shampoo and conditioner for various reasons, so I was all for adding this into the rotation as I wanted to try a different purple shampoo.This shampoo was very pleasant to use. It cleans the hair quite thoroughly and has a very nice scent. My hair was nice and soft after using it, and felt nourished and not so dry, as it usually is, which was quite lovely.My hair always tends to look quite orange after colouring, and definitely needs to be toned with a purple shampoo, even a couple of weeks after. This shampoo is a must to neutralise the brasiness and yellow tones in highlighted hair as it certainly delivers on those claims.

Jackie L. 27 Mar 2019

(Video) L'oreal Elvive Colour Protect Intensive Purple Mask Review / Purple Hair Mask To Remove Brassiness

L’Oréal Paris Elvive Colour Protect Anti-Brassiness Purple Shampoo is great I just had blonde highlights put in. And have been using this shampoo and conditioner since. It's keeping my hair blonde, no brassy onange colour. Also it smells beautiful and you don't need to use alot. I feel like it's living up to what it says it offers.

Emma A. 26 Mar 2019

Left my hair feeling clean from products and hair care, without being drying. Removed orange tones which were starting to creep into my highlights. Lathered well and did not smell like chemicals. Quick and easy to use and great smell. Very affordable given it should only be used weekly. I followed this product by using the matching conditioner.

Jessica H. 26 Mar 2019

Pros: smells lovely, washes and lathers really well. That’s where it kind of stops for me.I have brunette coloured hair with blonde highlights, it didn’t really do much with taking the yellow or orangey tones out. It left my hair stringy and dry, which was really disappointing. I think the worst part was that each strand felt as thought it had something stuck on it. I don’t think I would be getting this again especially when there are lots of other products that will tone hair with out leaving your hair stringy and dry

Julia B. 26 Mar 2019

Really enjoyed this shampoo. After a few uses reduced brassiness significantly. Super strong, may have left my hands a bit purple, but seemed to do the trick. Really liked the smell. Didn't seem to be drying either as some toners can be but that may be the conditioner doing the work. Would defiantly purchase again.

Jemma Knight 26 Mar 2019

A good shampoo, smell is really nice, however I found you had to leave it on a little bit longer than recomended, not particularly drying which is a bonus considering most of the purple shampoos I have used have been quite harsh, in combination with the conditioner works a treat I would say I still have slight brassy tones but I have only been using for a week.

(Video) Loreal Paris Elvive Purple Shampoo & Conditioner... Let's take a look!!!

FAQs

Does elvive purple shampoo stain? ›

Result on mixed shade hair

I used Elvive Purple Shampoo today on my hair today, which is white at front graduating to deep gold and brown roots at back. My hands and nails were stained purple, and although I've washed up etc all day, my nails are still grey.

How long do you leave elvive purple shampoo on for? ›

Use once a week to complement your regular Elvive Colour Protect routine. Massage into hair and leave for 1-3 minutes before rinsing well and follow with our Purple Conditioner.

Can I use elvive purple shampoo everyday? ›

Purple shampoo is meant only to be used when your hair is looking brassy, not every day. Generally, you'll want to incorporate it into your hair care routine one to three times a week in place of your usual shampoo. To maximize the benefits, you'll always want to use your purple shampoo with a purple conditioner.

Is Loreal Elvive good for blonde hair? ›

This new specialist colour correcting Purple formula nourishes hair & neutralises unwanted yellow, orange, and brassy tones in just one use, to help leave hair looking bright and beautiful. Suitable for blonde, highlighted, and silver hair. Features: - For highlighted brunette, blonde & grey hair.

What happens if you leave purple shampoo in too long? ›

If you leave purple shampoo on for too long, you may find yourself with a little lilac hue. This color is not permanent and is more likely to happen if you have very light blonde hair or if your hair is dry and damaged. To remove the purple hue, switch to regular shampoo for your next few washes.

What happens if you leave purple shampoo in your hair for hours? ›

Too Much of a Good Thing: Purple Shampoo Left On Too Long

You can, in fact, over-tone your hair. Leaving purple shampoo in your hair for an hour or more can cause your hair to look dull and lifeless. To leave purple shampoo for more than 10 minutes is already too much.

Should I keep purple shampoo in my hair for 30 minutes? ›

Unless you have white hair or gray hair, you shouldn't leave the purple shampoo on for longer than 15 minutes at a time. If you're already leaving the shampoo on for less than 15 minutes and you're noticing a purple tone, then try leaving the product on for even less time.

Does the Loreal purple shampoo lighten the hair? ›

Does purple shampoo brighten blonde hair? While it won't actually change the colour of your hair, it addresses the tone and nixes the brassiness.

Can I use purple shampoo every 2 days? ›

Keep in mind that purple shampoo does not replace your regular shampoo and should only be used once or twice a week. Doss warns that there is such a thing as too much purple. “When you eliminate too much yellow, it visually ends up darker and a lot of people don't want it to look darker,” she says.

When should you not use purple shampoo? ›

Don't use purple shampoo if you've got orange tones in your hair. You'll need a blue shampoo to cancel those out. Do ease into purple shampooing. Before using it at full strength, dilute it with your regular, normal shampoo – 1-part regular shampoo to 2 parts purple shampoo should work fine.

How long does it take for purple shampoo to work? ›

However, we've created the 'Goldilocks' of purple shampoos; a product with just the right level of lilac pigment, which takes 3-5 minutes to work its magic on brassy strands.

Will purple shampoo fix yellow roots? ›

Purple shampoo is purple colored shampoo that distributes purple pigment to neutralize brassy, yellow tones. Purple is used because, if you take a look at the color wheel, it is the direct opposite color of yellow. This means purple and yellow cancels one another out.

Does the L Oreal purple shampoo work? ›

This works because purple colour is the opposite to yellow on the colour wheel, therefore the purple within the purple shampoo formula helps neutralise yellow tones. And according the highly enthusiastic feedback from customers, it really works.

Does elvive strip hair colour? ›

I dyed my hair red and after a few days i used loreal elvive colour protect shampoo and conditioner, it basically colour stripped my hair! My hair went copper orange! Ive reverted back to pantene pro v which makes my colour last 3 to 4 weeks before a touch up is needed.

How do I get the best results from purple shampoo? ›

The purple shampoo bottle will tell you to apply it to wet hair in the shower for 10 minutes, but the hack is to apply it to dry hair and leave it on for upwards of 15 minutes and then wash it out.

Can you ruin your hair with purple shampoo? ›

DOES PURPLE SHAMPOO DAMAGE HAIR? The cool violet pigment in purple shampoo won't damage hair, but if you leave it on strands too long, those purple pigments will take their job a little too far and could turn tresses a purple-violet colour.

Do you put purple shampoo on dry or wet hair? ›

Purple shampoo should be applied in the shower or during a hair wash. While your hair is wet, apply the shampoo and lather it onto your hair. The amount of shampoo that you use will vary depending on your choice of product and how brassy your hair is looking.

Why did my hair turn purple after using purple shampoo? ›

The reason though that your hair has turned purple though is because of the violet pigment contained within the shampoo. The violet/purple/blue pigment is what neutralizes the yellow and brassy tones in the hair. You'll see on the colour wheel that purple is opposite to yellow and orange, This is important!

Why did purple shampoo darken my hair? ›

If anything, purple shampoo may make your hair temporarily slightly darker. This is because the inky purple pigments found in purple shampoo are a darker color than the shades of yellow in blonde hair.

Why isn't my purple shampoo working? ›

Purple counteracts yellow, blue counteracts orange. They are opposites on the color wheel, so that's why. So if your hair has an orangey hue, the reality is, purple shampoo won't work. Because purple doesn't solve an orange problem.

Do you rinse and repeat with purple shampoo? ›

Adding this simple step to your routine can keep your color vibrant and prevent brassiness while you lather, rinse, and repeat.

Can I use regular conditioner after purple shampoo? ›

Some blondes swear by locking in the purple toning with a purple conditioner. However, as the purple shampoo does most of the work, we think it's OK to use any conditioner you like. After rinsing, try a deep moisturizing hair mask to soften your hair, and smooth frizz.

What does purple shampoo do to brown hair with no highlights? ›

Purple shampoo works the same way to eliminate brassiness on brown hair as it does on blonde. It helps to prevent color fade, while emphasizing shine, keeping brown hair vibrant and rich. Using purple shampoo on brown hair regularly will take out any unwanted warm tones in your strands.

How often should you wash with purple shampoo? ›

If it's your first time using purple shampoo, it's best to stick to just once a week. Use a color-safe shampoo like our Color Assure Color Care Shampoo and Conditioner Set for Colored Treated Hair the rest of the week and slowly increase how many times you use it until you find your perfect shade.

What's the difference between silver shampoo and purple shampoo? ›

Purple shampoo neutralises brassiness but enhances blonde pigmentation. To maintain a silver shade, your shampoo requires a stronger colour neutralisation. Silver shampoo is formulated with deeper purple pigments to target yellow tones in a much stronger way.

What happens if you use purple shampoo on dark blonde hair? ›

In sum, whether you have lightened dark hair or blonde hair, purple shampoo is an easy way to eliminate brass. Make it a part of your regular hair care routine so your hair color stays fresh and cool-toned.

What's brassy hair look like? ›

What Is Brassy Hair? Brassiness in hair is the unwanted warm tones that appear in colored hair. This is typical for people who have dyed their hair from brown to blonde or platinum. The reason the term is “brassy” is because of the color the hair turns when orange and red tones show up in strands.

Why does blonde hair go brassy? ›

Brassy hair is caused by an overabundance of warm pigments in your hair. For example, when platinum blonde hair becomes too yellow or when golden highlights turn reddish-gold or orange. When you lighten your hair, your natural hair color is lifted to make room for the new color.

What happens if you use purple shampoo on GREY hair? ›

Using a purple shampoo on grey hair can help to remove brassy yellow shades, leaving you with a flattering silver undertone.

What level of hair does purple shampoo work on? ›

“I only recommend purple shampoo on Level 9 or higher,” says Gina. “Purple shampoo does not cancel out orange so if the hair has any orange or yellow orange tones in it, the purple shampoo would actually make them warmer depositing red into the hair.”

What happens if you put purple shampoo on dyed yellow hair? ›

Purple will neutralize Gold or Yellow-Orange but makes it look Tan or Sand. Violet will neutralize Yellow but makes it look Beige or Bisque. If the color used is strong enough it will add a greyish cast so shade looks Cool or Ash. This is why hair needs to be PALE YELLOW to make White, Platinum Or Silver Blonde.

How do hairdressers fix yellow hair? ›

How to get rid of yellow and orange tones in your hair
  1. Bleach your hair with the help of a professional hairdresser.
  2. Use a toning to counteract the brassy tones.
  3. Try products made for home use, like a silver shampoo, silver conditioner and a silver mask.
  4. Protect your hair from UV radiation.

Why is my hair still brassy after toning? ›

If the toner failed to work effectively on the orange hair, a blue toner must be applied again to neutralize the undesirable tone. If you feel that the orange tone is too dark or intense, you can bleach your hair again and then apply the blue toner to achieve a lighter blonde.

Does purple shampoo stain wash out? ›

With repeated use, extended leave on times, or on damaged, porous hair, ashy or purple tones may be visible after use. These tones are temporary. To remove, simply wash your hair with a clarifying shampoo. If necessary, repeat until any unwanted color is removed from the hair.

Is purple shampoo supposed to stain? ›

If used incorrectly, "purple shampoo can stain your hair for weeks or even months,” Maine says. “It also can be very hard to remove from your hair and can cause dryness.” If you've overdone it, be patient. Purple shampoo "is a stain, so it will wash out over time,” Maine says.

Can purple shampoo permanently stain hair? ›

Will Purple Shampoo Wash Out? Fortunately the purple staining in your hair is not permanent and will fade with every wash. But if you're needing to get that purple out ASAP, there are luckily a few things you can do to strip the purple from your hair, and we'll get into those later.

Will purple shampoo stain my shower? ›

We can assure you that while this is very uncommon, our purple shampoo is a highly pigmented formula and it's possible for the tone to transfer to porous surfaces. Stained my shower! This just happened to me did anyone have any luck- my shower is completely ruined.

Why is my hair still yellow after using purple shampoo? ›

Purple counteracts yellow, blue counteracts orange. They are opposites on the color wheel, so that's why. So if your hair has an orangey hue, the reality is, purple shampoo won't work. Because purple doesn't solve an orange problem.

How often should you use purple shampoo? ›

Keep in mind that purple shampoo does not replace your regular shampoo and should only be used once or twice a week. Doss warns that there is such a thing as too much purple. “When you eliminate too much yellow, it visually ends up darker and a lot of people don't want it to look darker,” she says.

Why should you not use purple shampoo every wash? ›

Just remember that if you use too much purple shampoo and remove too much of the yellow tones in your blonde, you could end up with a shade darker than what you want. You should be washing your hair regularly with a blonde shampoo to keep the colour vivid but not brassy.

Do I need to wear gloves when using purple shampoo? ›

Purple shampoo can stain your skin, so some people opt for gloves—but as someone who regularly uses purple shampoo, I've never used gloves and been just fine. Lather it up in your hands a bit, then work it into your scalp.

How long does it take for purple shampoo to dye your hair? ›

Leave the shampoo for up to 15 minutes on brassy or color-treated hair. If your hair is significantly discolored or you have recently dyed your hair blonde, leave the shampoo in for 5 to 15 minutes. Your hair may need more time to fully absorb the tone. Then, wash the shampoo out of your hair with cool water.

How do you remove purple shampoo from shower? ›

Acetone-based nail polish remover is a great option for removing hair dye stains from your shower, tub, and counters. Use a cotton ball to apply the nail polish remover to the stained area.

When should you start using purple shampoo? ›

Purple shampoo is meant only to be used when your hair is looking brassy, not every day. Generally, you'll want to use one once your hair starts looking brassy by incorporating it into your hair care routine one to three times a week in place of your usual shampoo.

What color does purple shampoo neutralize? ›

Purple shampoo is a toning shampoo specially designed for blonde hair, silver hair, bleached hair, or brassy hair. It features crushed violet pigments that neutralize style-ruining brassy and yellow tones.

Videos

1. L'OREAL ELVIVE COLOR VIBRANCY PURPLE SHAMPOO BEFORE & AFTER REVIEW
(Every Haircolor)
2. Loreal Elvive purple shampoo for orange and yellow tone hair / Review/
(reviews with ain)
3. LOREAL ELVIVE PURPLE Shampoo/BEFORE-AFTER
(HAIR WITH MEANING)
4. MY PURPLE SHAMPOO ROUTINE | L’ORÉAL ELVIVE
(ZoeyGlitter)
5. PURPLE SHAMPOO Brassy Hair BEFORE & AFTER | skip2mylou
(skip2mylou)
6. Toning Dry Hair with Purple Conditioner | L’Oréal
(Avielle Larson)

Top Articles

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Chrissy Homenick

Last Updated: 10/25/2022

Views: 6052

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (54 voted)

Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Chrissy Homenick

Birthday: 2001-10-22

Address: 611 Kuhn Oval, Feltonbury, NY 02783-3818

Phone: +96619177651654

Job: Mining Representative

Hobby: amateur radio, Sculling, Knife making, Gardening, Watching movies, Gunsmithing, Video gaming

Introduction: My name is Chrissy Homenick, I am a tender, funny, determined, tender, glorious, fancy, enthusiastic person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.